Chittagong Division, Bangladesh

With its rolling green hills, dense forests, cool climate and broad sandy beaches, Chittagong Division, located in southern Bangladesh, is the second largest of the country's six administrative divisions. It is divided into eleven districts (zillas), namely Chittagong, Cox's Bazar, Rangamati, Bandarban, Khagrachhari, Feni, Lakshmipur, Comilla, Noakhali, Brahmanbaria and Chandpur. The Chittagong Division is an important agricultural area, as well as being a major supplier of hydroelectric power. The city of Chittagong is the country's most important seaport and a vital commercial and industrial center.

Places of interest in Chittagong Division that will appeal to nature lovers include the beautiful Patenga Beach located where the fast-flowing river Karnaphuli empties into the sea, and the man-made Foy’s Lake with its beautiful scenery and diverse flora and fauna – a favorite picnic spot with locals and visitors. Cox’s Bazar is reputed to have the longest natural sea beach in the world, while Bandarban offers unspoiled rural beauty.

There are a number of leisure parks in the Chittagong Division, including the amusement park at Foy’s Lake, Karnafully Sishu Park at Agrabad, Mini Bangladesh at Chandgaon and Jatisongho Park at Panchlaish. Religious sites in the Chittagong Division include the Shrine of Baizid Bostami, Baitul Falah and Chandanpura Mosque, while the Tribal Cultural Museum in the Hill Tracts of Chittagong provides insight into the tribes living in the hilly areas who still adhere to traditional tribal practices and values.

back to Regions