Explore Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

As one of the six administrative divisions of Bangladesh, Dhaka Division is made up of 17 districts (zillas). The country's capital city, Dhaka, is located in the district of the same name within the Dhaka Division. As the most populous city in Bangladesh, Dhaka is the center of commercial, industrial, educational, cultural and political activity. This fascinating city, with its more than 400,000 rickshaws, is a prime tourist destination for visitors who want to enjoy aspects of the rich historical and cultural heritage of Bangladesh.

Places of interest to visit in the Dhaka Division of Bangladesh include the beautiful Star Mosque (Tara Masjid), Dhakeshwari Temple and Lalbagh Fort in Dhaka city; the Kalinarayana Temple and Vawal Rajbari in Joydebpur; and the Wari-Bateshwar ruins in Narsingdi zilla. The Narsingdi zilla is the center of the thriving textile craft industry in Bangladesh.

There is a wealth of archaeological treasures that have been discovered in the Munshiganj zilla of the Dhaka Division, such as the Shyamsiddhir Math site at Sreenagar, offering insight into the distant past of the area. The Rajbari district is renowned for being a place of great natural beauty and is popular among nature-lovers and birding enthusiasts. Certainly, wherever your interests may lie, a tour of the Dhaka Division of Bangladesh is sure to be memorable.

back to Regions