Barisal Division, Bangladesh

Located in south-central Bangladesh, Barisal Division is one of the six divisions of the country, the other five being Chittagong Division, Dhaka Division, Khulna Division, Sylhet Division and Rajshahi Division. Barisal Division is divided into six districts (zillas), namely Barisal, Barguna, Bhola, Jhalokati, Pirojpur and Patuakhali, each with their own unique places of interest for tourists to visit.

In the vicinity of Barisal city is the lake and picnic area of Durga Sagar which is popular with both locals and visitors. Birding enthusiasts will appreciate the variety of birdlife, especially in winter when migrant birds are plentiful. Not too far from Durga Sagar lie the ancient ruins of a palace that was once home to a local Lord and his family. On the banks of the River Kirtonkhola within city limits is the picturesque Bell’s Park, while the scenic Kuakata beach of the Patuakhali zilla is just a short distance away.

Places of interest in Barguna zilla include the Bibichini Mosque in Betagi, the Buddhist temple and academy in Taltali and two mass graves from the Liberation War. Barguna and Jhalokati zillas are known for their quality bamboo and cane work, as well as weaving, tailoring, woodwork, jewelry and pottery manufacturing. Historic sites in Jhalokati zilla include the Sujabad Fort, Surichora Jami Mosque, Madabar Mosque and the 18th century Civil Court Building in the town of Jhalokati. With its scattering of small forests, Pirojpur zilla is very scenic and visitors can explore its many waterways by means of boats and steamers, while traditional rickshaws are a popular method of transport in the town.

back to Regions